Acquisition of Edmonton Tech Wednesdays & Happy Holidays!

One week, many news!

Welcome everyone to the second edition of the digital transformation newsletter served weekly. I did not give up on this gig and it is a second week, so there is always a chance for another week next week before New Year’s Eve.

Edmonton Tech Wednesdays

Long story short: you can see me standing there, doing my best to literally lean in the conversation as I hear many entrepreneurs discuss their projects, prospects of innovation. GRETA Bar looked amazing with the new decorations, it’s been a usual spot for Edmonton Tech Wednesdays for many and many weeks by now and during this event - first time in my life I did M&A.

Founded by Paul Bakhmut, Edmonton Tech Wednesdays has merged to MovEd, making it our weekly event. Wohoo! Now we can talk about digital transformation and innovation weekly and I can talk about someone or something that happened during this week and point out that we had a lot of attendance that day.

We had two tables of people as you can see, I decided to walk around to engage with everyone during that day and hear what everyone has to say. We had Thiago from Edmonton Data Science community who got himself a new job (congratulations!), CR from YourBeat whom I hadn’t seen for months and now we changed haircuts (now he has longer hair than I do!), Brett Gamble from Australia who’s making a very cool project that all of you are going to find out soon - we had a lot of new people, a lot of old people

With the expectations and the attendance I want to get, we might need four tables, because I am ambitious and digital transformation is the definition of a software developer’s ambition to allow himself to be lazy and have all the conveniences to himself.

Which is which, why do I expect more attendance? Introducing guest speakers! Here’s a snap from the LinkedIn post I wrote about guest speakers along with this beautiful poster I made.

Would you like to make an impact in the tech community?
Would you like to come for some casual networking and speak about yourself, your activities, or organization?

I've got something for you.

Edmonton Tech Wednesdays, powered by MovEd, is looking for guest speakers to talk about themselves, their activities, and their organizations in a casual networking environment. That means - no microphones, no PowerPoint slides, no stages. Just drink beer & talk (or if you are me - drink coke).

What's the benefit?
• Access to the tech community that has been growing since March with 220+ people.
• Ability to make a difference in the tech community and gain exposure.
• Extensive network of enthusiastic people: job seekers, community leaders, start-up founders, investors.
• Personalized poster for you to be featured on our announcements.
• Get your name featured on the Edmonton Tech Wednesdays website in the list of speakers, granting you exposure as the community continues to grow.

In case guest speaking is not for you, that is totally understandable!
Another way to get featured on our website is to come to Edmonton Tech Wednesdays and write a testimony about how you feel about this event and how this regular weekly event empowers you and the tech community around you.

Contact me here on LinkedIn or my e-mail [email protected] about reserving a slot at Wednesday anytime in 2024 (or even 2023, if holidays don't stop you, because they won't stop me from getting you all set an ready to go as a guest speaker).

Happy Holidays!

Mykola

That being said, if any of you folks who are reading this either in your inbox after considering it being a spam message from some random start-up community initiative organization in Edmonton or you decided to read it on the web, I encourage you to try yourself out. Imagine - you go to a networking event and the event is all about you and your persona, that’s how you boost your ego and that’s how you also get the exposure and that’s how you get customized events, making them as less generic as possible.

I want people to come and do digital transformation, I want people to be innovative, I want myself to grow and learn among the bright minds that I meet, I want you to benefit from this.

Also on 28th December - I recommend coming to the StartupTNT Happy Hours at Northern Chicken 104 St. starting 5PM (yes, a little bit earlier, because holidays are coming soon), it will have an impeccable guest host who’s all about the action and he is a really cool guy and that guy is me. I will be there, I will greet you and we will have fun before actual New Year.

Let’s grow this newsletter and let’s grow this innovative tech community.

Before I go, here’s another poster I made:

Happy Holidays!

Considering that everyone is making Happy Holidays post, I decided not to be left out and here you go. I hope all of you people that are in tech community will be happy, but the most important - get enough sleep, because I don’t and this is the problem when you are a start-up founder, where the only investment or grant you want to get is 8 hours to sleep.

Thank you for reading, catch you later next week!